Home About NAKFI Conferences Grants Communication Awards Contact Us My Account

Login to manage your account and access the NAFKI Alumni Network.

Password Reminder

NAKFI Leaders Appointed to NAS Advisory Group
Three NAKFI Leaders were among those appointed to the National Academy of Sciences’ New Gulf of Mexico program’s Advisory Group:

  Stephen R. Carpenter served as the chair of the NAKFI Conference on Ecosystem Services Steering Committee. Dr. Carpenter is the Director of the Center for Limnology and Stephen Alfred Forbes Professor of Zoology of the University of Wisconsin, Madison.

Christopher B. Field is serving as a member  of the NAKFI Conference on The Future of Advanced Nuclear Technologies Steering Committee.  Dr. Field is the founding Director of the Carnegie Institution's Department of Global Ecology, Melvin and Joan Lane Professor for Interdisciplinary Environmental Studies at Stanford University, and Faculty Director of Stanford's Jasper Ridge Biological Preserve.

Barbara Schaal served as the co-chair and  chair of the National Academies Communication Awards Selection Committee in 2009 and 2010-2012, respectively.  Dr. Schaal is the outgoing National Academy of Sciences Vice President andDean of the Faculty of Arts & Sciences, Mary-Dell Chilton Distinguished Professor, Professor of Biology at Washington University in St. Louis.

To learn more the National Academy of Sciences’ Gulf of Mexico program or it’s Advisory Group please see the press release or the program’s website: http://www.nationalacademies.org/gulf/gulfprogram.html