Home About NAKFI Conferences Grants Communication Awards Contact Us My Account

Login to manage your account and access the NAFKI Alumni Network.

Password Reminder

NAKFI 2013 Communication Awards Nominations Open

The Keck Futures Initiative -- a program of the National Academy of Sciences, National Academy of Engineering, and Institute of Medicine -- is accepting nominations for the 2013 Communication Awards for excellence in reporting and communicating science, engineering, and medicine to the public during 2012. A $20,000 prize will be awarded in each of the following categories: book; film, radio, or TV; magazine or newspaper; and online.

To be considered for a 2013 Communication Award, the work should:
-be accessible and appeal to a broad, public audience;
-demonstrate clarity, creativity, originality, and accuracy;
-address issues and/or advances in science, engineering, and/or medicine;
-cover topics that have an impact on society; and
-have been published, broadcast, or released in 2012, in the United States and in English.

Material primarily intended for children, reference books, and textbooks are not eligible for consideration. Candidates may be individuals or teams of not more than four people. National Academies’ employees are not eligible and posthumous awards are not permitted. This award is not for lifetime achievement; the work for which a candidate or team is nominated must have been published or broadcast in 2012.

Nominations must be completed online no later than Feb. 8, 2013.  The winners will be honored in the fall at a ceremony in Washington, D.C.  For information on eligibility, submission requirements, and nomination procedures, visit http://www.keckfutures.org/awards/nominate.html.
The recipients of the 2012 Communication Awards were:
BOOK: Daniel Kahneman for Thinking, Fast and Slow (Farrar, Strauss, and Giroux)
FILM/RADIO/TV: Paula S. Apsell (senior executive producer), Michael Bicks (writer, producer, and director), and Julia Cort (senior producer, writer) for "Smartest Machine on Earth" (NOVA)
MAGAZINE/NEWSPAPER: Crocker Stephenson, Guy Boulton, Mark Johnson, John Schmid, and the Journal Sentinel staff for the series "Empty Cradles" (Milwaukee Journal Sentinel)
ONLINE: Daniel Engber for the series "The Mouse Trap: How One Rodent Rules the Lab" (Slate Magazine)