Home About NAKFI Conferences Grants Communication Awards Contact Us My Account

Login to manage your account and access the NAFKI Alumni Network.

Password Reminder

NAKFI Synthetic Biology Steering Committee Member Awarded the Prestigious Charles Stark Draper Prize

The National Academy of Engineering recently announced the recipients of the engineering profession’s highest honors for 2011. Frances H. Arnold is one of two recipients for the 2011 Charles Stark Draper Prize, a $500,000 annual award that honors engineers whose accomplishments have significantly benefited society. Arnold is receiving this award for her contribution to “a process called ‘directed evolution,’ which allows researchers to guide the creation of certain properties in proteins and cells.” Arnold is the Dick and Barbara Dickinson Professor of Chemical Engineering , Biochemistry and Bioengineering at the California Institute of Technology and is the only woman to have been elected to all three membership organizations of the National Academies (the NAE in 2000, the Institute of Medicine in 2004 and the National Academy of Sciences in 2008.) For the full press release please from the National Academies Office of News and Information please copy and paste the following link into your browser: http://www8.nationalacademies.org/onpinews/newsitem.aspx?RecordID=01042011.

NAKFI Alum Frances H. Arnold participated on the NAKFI Synthetic Biology Steering Committee, which focused on: investigating how synthetic biology can create breakthroughs in areas such as medicine, pharmacology, agriculture, national security, the environment, and the production of bio-energies, while considering the policy implications, ethical and risk management issues, and strategies to create synergies to become the best in the world at synthetic biology. In addition to serving on the steering committee Arnold developed a preconference podcast tutorial on Engineering and Synthetic Biology for the 2009 NAKFI Conference on Synthetic Biology.
For more information about this award please visit the NAE awards site at http://www.nae.edu/awards and for more information about Frances H. Arnold please visit her website at http://www.che.caltech.edu/faculty/arnold_f/index.html.
The National Academy of Engineering is an independent, nonprofit institution. Its members consist of the nation’s premier engineers, who are elected by their peers for seminal contributions to engineering. The NAE serves as advisor to the government on the application of engineering resources to social, economic and security problems.