Home About NAKFI Conferences Grants Communication Awards Contact Us My Account
Communication Awards Home Previous Winners Nominate
2016 Committee
2016 Winners
2016 Award Ceremony Video
Nomination Information
About the Awards Video

Login to manage your account and access the NAFKI Alumni Network.

Password Reminder

2016 Communication Awards
For Excellence in Reporting Science, Medicine and Engineering

(Nominations for 2017 Awards will open early January, 2017)
The Keck Futures Initiative – a program of the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine, with the support of the W.M. Keck Foundation – will award four $20,000 prizes in 2016 to individuals or teams (up to four individuals associated with the creation of the work being nominated) who have developed creative, original works that address issues and advances in science, engineering and/or medicine for the general public. Nominations are accepted in four categories: Book; Film/Radio/TV; Magazine/Newspaper; and Online. The winners will be honored in the Fall 2016 and are expected to attend in person.

To have been considered for a 2016 Communication Award, the work should have:
• been accessible and appeal to a broad, public audience;
• demonstrated clarity, creativity, originality, and accuracy;
• addressed issues and/or advances in science, engineering, and/or medicine;
• covered topics that have an impact on society; and
• were published, broadcasted, or released in 2015, in the United States and in English.

Material primarily intended for children, reference books, and textbooks were not eligible for consideration. Candidates are individuals or teams of not more than four people. Academies’ employees are not eligible and posthumous awards are not permitted. This award is not for lifetime achievement; the work for which a candidate or team was nominated must have been published or broadcasted in 2015.
Timeline for 2016 Communication Awards
February 8 Nomination process closes; all nominations must be submitted online.
February 12 All supporting materials must be received or nomination is invalid. Please see specific category for required supporting materials.
October 26 Winners to be honored at a ceremony in Washington, DC. 
The nomination process closed on February 8, 2016; copies of the nominated work must have been submitted as described for each category by February 12, 2016. Self-nominations were permitted; there is no nomination fee.  Nominators were encouraged to submit to the category that most closely describes the work(s) nominated.  Supporting materials will not be returned.

 For category criteria please click on category below.


Questions? Please email commawards@nas.edu

Winners and finalists will be announced early fall 2016.