Home About NAKFI Conferences Grants Communication Awards Contact Us My Account
Communication Awards Home Previous Winners Nominate
2016 Committee
2016 Winners
2016 Award Ceremony Video
Nomination Information
About the Awards Video

Login to manage your account and access the NAFKI Alumni Network.

Password Reminder

National Academies Communication Awards
2009 Winners and Finalists

Neil Shubin
for his delightful, intellectually challenging view of evolution from primitive fish to humans by a scientist who finds fossils in the most uncomfortable places and chronicles it all in Your Inner Fish: A Journey Into the 3.5-Billion-Year History of the Human Body (Pantheon Books).

Mark Johnson
for his clear reporting on the cutting edge of science, engaging key researchers as they try to open new medical horizons by reprogramming human cells, in his series Targeting the Good Cell (Milwaukee Journal Sentinel).

Larry Adelman (series creator, executive producer), Llewellyn M. Smith (co-executive producer), and Christine Herbes-Sommers (series senior producer) for putting a human face on one of the most complex issues in public health -- the impact of racial and socio-economic inequities On health -- in Unnatural Causes: Is Inequality Making Us Sick? (California NewsReel in association with Vital Pictures Inc.)

Vikki Valentine
(digital science editor), Alison Richards (deputy science editor), and Anne Gudenkauf (science editor) for NPR News' Climate Connections, a yearlong multimedia journey to explain the impacts of global climate change with well-reported stories from around the world (NPR News in partnership with National Geographic).

Thomas Hager
, author of The Alchemy of Air: A Jewish Genius, A Doomed Tycoon, and the Discovery That Fed the World but Fueled the Rise of Hitler (Crown/Harmony Books).

Kenneth R. Miller, author of Only a Theory: Evolution and the Battle for America's Soul (Penguin Group USA).

Andrew Revkin, environment reporter, author of Dot Earth blog (The New York Times).

The 2008-2009 Communication Awards Selection Committee was chaired by Donald Kennedy.